Comment disappears when adding a comment to highlighted text

I have been using the paid Kami service for many months. Over the last couple of days, I have run into a strange problem. While typing a comment, the comment box would suddently disappear, resulting in loss of comment. Often, the highlight would disappear at the same time and appear a minute later without the comment. This has happened many times in the last two days.

I do often have the same pdf open in multiple browsers. This has not been a problem in the past.

Update 1: the problem seems to happen even if the file is open only in one browser.

Update 2: Now I am seeing this problem all the time. Easy to reproduce.

Update 3: BTW, I am using Chrome on Linux (Centos 7). Previously, when things worked fine, I used Chrome on Mac.

1 Like

Hi @Umesh

Thank you for posting this, and I’m sorry you’re experiencing this. We definitely want to get to the bottom of this issue though we haven’t experienced this problem on our own use of Kami. Would you be able to use Screenastify or any other screen recording tool to record this bug? We’d like to see your entire screen while it happens (e.g. time on your PC, seeing the URL in the toolbar, etc).

Once you have it, could you email us at support@kamiapp.com

Edit: This does sound like a serious bug, and we’ll do everything we can while we’re waiting for more info to reproduce this. Also if you don’t have time to record the video, even sending/share the file with us would be useful.

Thank you!

1 Like

I don’t think we heard from you yet. But I think we’ve reproduced the issue, and we’re aware of an issue where annotation updates from the server arrives while you’re editing your comments, you could lose your draft work. We’ll be working on a fix early next week. Stay tuned.

1 Like

Update4: I am seeing this problem at home on my Windows desktop, so I think it is independent of my moving to a Linux desktop at work.